Classes‎ > ‎Multiclass Archetypes‎ > ‎Barbarian‎ > ‎

Holy Rager (Barbarian/Paladin)

A holy rager is the true embodiment of physical wrath and divinely imbued power. By fusing her innate rage with divine might, she bolsters her physical attacks to strike down any enemy that stands before her. Although the path of a paladin is rarely in accordance with the chaotic and wrathful nature of the barbarian, certain individuals hearken to this obscure calling from the heavens and answer it with all the power they can
This content was created by the MultiClass Productions fan group.
 muster. (Original Concept by Elghinn Lightbringer)

Primary Class: Barbarian.
Secondary Class: Paladin.
Alignment: Neutral good or chaotic good.
Hit Dice: d12.

Bonus Skills and Ranks: The holy rager may select three paladin skills to add to her class skills in addition to the normal barbarian class skills. The holy rager gains a number of ranks at each level equal to 4 + Int modifier.

Table: Holy Rager

LevelBase Attack BonusFort SaveRef SaveWill SaveSpecial
1st+1+2+0+2Aura of goodrage
2nd+2+3+0+3Detect eviluncanny dodge
3rd+3+3+1+3Rage power
4th+4+4+1+4Divine grace
5th+5+4+1+4Improved uncanny dodge
6th+6/+1+5+2+5Rage power, righteous wrath 1/day
7th+7/+2+5+2+5Damage reduction 1/—
8th+8/+3+6+2+6Aura of resolve
9th+9/+4+6+3+6Rage power
10th+10/+5+7+3+7Damage reduction 2/—, righteous wrath 2/day
11th+11/+6/+1+7+3+7Greater rage
12th+12/+7/+2+8+4+8Aura of fury, rage power
13th+13/+8/+3+8+4+8Damage reduction 3/—
14th+14/+9/+4+9+4+9Righteous wrath 3/day
15th+15/+10/+5+9+5+9Rage power
16th+16/+11/+6/+1+10+5+10Aura of tenacity, damage reduction 4/—
17th+17/+12/+7/+2+10+5+10Tireless rage
18th+18/+13/+8/+3+11+6+11Righteous wrath 4/day, rage power
19th+19/+14/+9/+4+11+6+11Damage reduction 5/—
20th+20/+15/+10/+5+12+6+12Mighty rage

Weapon and Armor Proficiency

The holy rager is proficient with all simple and martial weapons, with light armor, medium armor, and with shields (except tower).

Aura of Good (Su)

This is exactly like the paladin ability of the same name. This ability replaces fast movement.

Detect Evil (Su)

This is exactly like the paladin ability of the same name. This ability is replaces rage power at 2nd level.

Divine Grace (Su)

This is exactly like the paladin ability of the same name. This ability replaces rage power at 8th level.

Rage Powers (Ex)

This is exactly like the barbarian ability of the same name, except that the holy rager may select a rage power at 3rd level and every three levels thereafter.

Righteous Wrath (Su)

Once per day, a holy rager of 6th level can call down the wrath of heaven to strike down her foes during a rage. As a swift action, the holy rager chooses one target within sight to attack. If the target is of good or neutral alignment, the holy rager adds 1/2 her holy rager level to all damage rolls. If the target is evil, the holy rager adds her holy rager level to all damage rolls made against the target. If the target is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the holy rager possesses. Regardless of the target, this attack automatically bypasses any DR the creature might possess.

In addition, while righteous wrath is in effect, the holy rager gains a sacred bonus equal to 1/2 her Charisma modifier (if any, rounded down) to her DR against attacks made by the target of the attack. The righteous wrath effect remains until the target is dead or the rage ends, which ever comes first. At 10th level, and at every four levels thereafter, the holy rager may use righteous wrath one additional time per day, to a maximum of four times per day at 18th level. This ability replaces trap sense.

Aura of Resolve (Su)

This is exactly like the paladin ability of the same name. This ability replaces rage power at 14th level.

Aura of Fury (Su)

At 12th level, a holy rager can expend four rounds of her rage ability to grant the ability to rage to all allies within 10 feet, using her bonuses. Allies must use this rage ability by the start of the holy rager’s next turn and the bonuses last for 1 round. Using this ability is a free action. Evil creatures gain no benefit from this ability. This ability replaces indomitable will.

Aura of Tenacity (Su)

At 16th level, a holy rager gains immunity to compulsion spells and spell-like abilities. In addition, when in a rage, each ally within 10 feet of her gains a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against compulsion effects. This ability functions only while the holy rager is conscious, not if she is unconscious or dead. This ability replaces rage power at 20th level.

Rage Powers

The following rage powers compliment the holy rager multiclass archetype: Auspicious Mark†, Ghost Rager†, Guarded Life*, Guarded Life (Greater)†, Guarded Stance, Holy Rage (Greater), Holy Rage (Lesser), Holy Rage, Regenerative Vigor†, Renewed Life†, Renewed Vigor, and Renewed Vitality†. (*Advanced Player’s Guide, Ultimate Combat)